I am so Selfish

I am so selfish
My heart is divided
I want to let you go and raise your voice
wave your fist
under their evil eye
under their illegal rule
but if bullets were to fly
if batons flail
if heaps turned to blood red
but I would be doubly lost
I would be shattered
I want to be brave
but I am a lover’s coward at times
freedom is needed
that regime needs to fall
but I want you all to myself
no one deserves your blood
I waited all my life for you
I just can’t let you go
I am so selfish
forgive me for holding you down.

March 6th, 2011
Vinohrady, Czech Republic

This entry was posted in 24 poems for my Lady & March 8th. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

