All The Things That You Are

felt I had walked from your border to your home

just to begin to understand

all the things that you are

and I wonder if I’ll ever know

the tears in yours eyes that you try to hide

with this fragile but hopeful smile

I’ve seen the child playing her little games

I’ve seen the youth lying on this woman’s frame

I don’t know how you can cut me twice

but a stranger’s hand leaves you as cold ice

no, no I don’t think I’ll ever understand

all the things that you are

try one more time

to hide all that wants release

but all the things that you are

fall gracefully across your face

like a canvas that reveals a masterpiece

echoing through time

no, no I’ll never understand

all the things that you are

july 15 1995

Praha, Czech Republic

This entry was posted in from the city of 100 golden steeples. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

