Verbal Frustration

oh inadequate speech

oh brain forlorn!!!

damnable twisted tongue

and cowardly heart

I desire

and yet I fear

I want

and I dissuade

I need

and I taunt myself

I laugh

and I cry in my folly

I speak

and I stumble

help me!?

help me

to express

my gratitude

my joy

your company

your comfort

delight me

scare me

and I have no idea

if you feel the same

oh what a confused

and wretched creature

I am!

chained by my silence

lost in a charade

unable to reveal

my true thoughts

they are locked in my brain

screaming for release

so I sputter them out

hoping you’ll understand

the nonsense coming your way

october 24 1991

Victoria, BC

This entry was posted in Victoria. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

