Hunted

racing

bracken

brush

brambles

branches

beating me

blurring the green forest

running

grasping, grasping, breathe!

a thunderclap in the brush

sounds of yapping

yelping and whistles

at any blind corner

I could run into a muzzle

and be blown into another realm

and still I must run on

to the water

I can’t hear its gurgling sounds

they’ll lose my scent there

and their presence

their desperation

their push is so near

water!!

my mind races

water for my throat

water for my body

water  for my life

run relentlessly

the baying hounds at my heels

running, crashing blindly

no sounds

a bleeding sensation in my lungs

my heart pounds wildly

and then I took flight

the ground gave way

my feet ran on thin air

free fall

life flashes

yelps

screams,

               .                        

                .                  

                .                 

               .                   

              .           

               .      

              . 

               .

      + splash +

 

october 24 1991

Victoria, BC

 

This entry was posted in Victoria. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

