Death

you cunning elusive

you escape man’s

frail faculties

of reason

but no man

can escape you

you are a gateway

but to where?

oblivion?

you separate us

divide us from

or mortal structure

carrying our spirits away

you come

whenever you please

in your own fashion

we are your minions

your harvest

borne for your collection

oh great void

of immense unknown

cast not your shadow

upon me

I am still too bitter a fruit

to harvest

come, let me linger

upon the vine

and learn your secrets

then pluck me suddenly

when I am ripe

in my mortality

and cast me

into the next dimension

february 2 1992

Victoria,

This entry was posted in Victoria. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

