Put In My Place

She looked at me and said

‘buy this place and make it yours’

I looked around in protest

a life of isolation

no pub here I noted

and so she showed me the pub

small, intimate, covered in vine

“lovely no?”

and she looked at me

“buy this place and make it yours”

I looked around in protest

what will I do here?

“raise goats & geese

tend to vines

you will not want more”

I looked at her

and heard the refrain over again

and who will speak to me here?

I am an alien

and she said I would learn

and who will cook for me

who will share these days?

she looked at me in the eye

as we passed a small green village house

and told me

“buy this place and make it yours”

August 29, 2009

Romania, R662 Iasi to Bucuresti at Tecuci

This entry was posted in Moldovan Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

